NES: The First 1%

The 1% is a series of articles where I catalogue adding 1% of a console’s games to my collection.

The Nintendo Entertainment System (NES) has 716 games, according to its Wikipedia article at the time of writing.


The start of my NES collection was gifted to me, from a friend, during the Thanksgiving weekend of 2021.

Super Mario Bros. + Duck Hunt
Shingen the Ruler
Star Wars
Track & Field 2


Dragon Warrior

Dragon Warrior was the first game I finished on the NES, and so it was top of mind when I was looking for affordable games to start my NES collection. Thankfully because of its over-production in the Nintendo Power magazine its supply remains good over 30 years later.

I picked this game up during my first visit to Good Time Games.


Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

If you’ve played this game, you know how difficult it is. Although I knew it would be tough, I also knew that it was a fun and inventive action game: The overhead map, the crazy enemies you fight in the sewers, the underwater level. It turns out it’s still a fun game to get frustrated with.

This was also a purchase during my first visit to Good Time Games.


Bandai Golf: Challenge Pebble Beach

This was the first golf game I played on the NES, so although I realize there are better games for this console, this was the first golf game I acquired.

This was my first video game purchase on eBay ever, and I purchased if from a nearby seller, blacksheepmedia.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started